Skip to content

Amor y Muerte

February 15, 2015

For Valentine’s Day this year, I treated myself to a few little pieces of magic from my favorite shop in Williamsburg, Fuego 718.

Primarily a kitschy Mexican folk art store, they carry inspired merchandise from South East Asia and South America too, as well as a books and jewelry by local designers. You’ll always find beautiful, one of a kind relics to add to your space whenever you walk in. I have a theory that if you wander around inside long enough, you’ll be drawn to something that’s perfect for you.

mexican folk art fuego 718 brooklyn

That’s how I felt yesterday after escaping the fluffy falling snow and taking refuge in the warm exterior of the shop. Beaded strands of tin hearts were dangling everywhere and the owner smiled from ear to ear while announcing that everything in the store was 25% off.

mexican folk art fuego 718 brooklyn

I spent about an hour scouring the colorful, eccentric merchandise before I found a gorgeous heart-shaped wall hanging made in Peru, a hand-painted shot glass from Mexico, and an amazing magnet with skeleton mermaids on it.

Everything together came to less than $20, and though I said it was just a “gift” for myself, the owner insisted on wrapping it up like a present. So sweet!

mexican folk art fuego 718 brooklyn

mexican folk art fuego 718 brooklyn

mexican folk art fuego 718 brooklyn

mexican folk art fuego 718 brooklyn

I’m so in love with these. What kind of treasures did you receive—or gift to yourself—this year?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2015 8:44 PM

    See? I have no one to shop with where I live in Pennsylvania, who totally understands the beauty withing products full of eccentricities….*sad face* we don’t live closer to one another. You rock, sista! Great finds!

    Bridget

    • February 16, 2015 8:50 PM

      Thanks for the comment, Bridget! I bet you could look at some online groups on Etsy or something and find some like-minded treasure hunters to shop with. And of course, I would love to see photos of your finds! xx

Leave a Reply

