Skip to content

Dearest Readers…

November 2, 2013

First, Feliz Dia de los Muertos! Today, I have an announcement.

After much thought and contradictory inner-dialogue, I’m putting Hey Mishka on the shelf temporarily in order to focus on my label, Bombay Mermaid Trading Co.

At the same time, I’ll be formulating a new content plan and redesign for Hey Mishka, though I don’t currently have an ETA on the 2.0 launch.

While blogging is my anti-drug, I’ve been posting here since December 2008 without much of a plan, sharing my life in whatever festive way I felt moved to, raving about fashion, holidays, art, and life.

It has resulted in some amazing opportunities and partnerships, but I’ve also let a lot of those opportunities sail by due to a lack of organization and the clarity needed to make magic happen.

Despite this, I’ve loved every minute of blogging here, and my subscribers and readers mean the world to me. But in my 29th year, I’ve decided it’s time to turn my shimmering dreams into specific goals, map out a plan, and dive in head first. I can only justify spending so much time on something (even if I adore it), if the ROI makes sense.

I feel that a laser focus on my shop (and subsequent awesomeness in that arena) will create a ripple effect and help me achieve the same purposeful forward motion with Hey Mishka.

My goal, when the time is right, is to relaunch this blog as a site bursting with resources for creative living, festive fashion, and more. A place where you can come hang out 24/7 to recharge, get revved up, and yes: to buy that sequined skirt with the pineapples on it!

While I’m up to my eyeballs with ideas and excitement, I can’t upgrade until I gain some clarity and do some dirty work. So, that’s what I’ll be up to.

I will check in during the holidays with greetings (how could I not?!), but other than that, you can reach me by email: michelle.christina.larsen at gmail. If you have any feedback, ideas, comments, thoughts, or just want to say hi, I welcome you into my soon-to-be-under-control inbox!

Also, definitely definitely check out Bombay Mermaid Trading Co., where I am currently pouring my heart and soul.

All my love.

P.S. Couldn’t leave without sharing my makeup from last night!

day of the dead makeup

P.P.S. You can stay up to date on my progress by liking the Hey Mishka facebook page. I’ll be blathering on as usual on twitter, so come find me there if you want to read what I ate for brunch and what brand of toothpaste I am currently angry at.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2013 1:16 PM

    You will be missed, Dear Michelle! Guess we’ll have to see each other in person more. ;)

    lovetotalknyc.com
    blog.lovetotalknyc.com

    • November 4, 2013 2:34 PM

      The new blog will be worth the absence! But yes, I need face to face time with the Love to Talk girls stat! xx

  2. November 4, 2013 2:50 PM

    I’ve really enjoyed your bright, festive posts and look forward to the relaunch! Best of luck with your shop and all other fun endeavors!

    • November 4, 2013 2:52 PM

      Thanks Steph! I can’t wait to show you what I’ve got in the works! xo

  3. November 7, 2013 6:25 AM

    your makeup here is insane!! so cool!!!
    sad to hear your leaving but can’t wait to see what you’re up to next!
    xx Vera & Rony
    http://wattwewear.com/

    • November 7, 2013 10:36 AM

      Thanks ladies! I’ll be checking in on your blog during my leave as well, so keep up the good work! Love your creativity.

      xx

Leave a Reply

