Skip to content

Resolutions For A Creative Summer

June 6, 2013

I’m tossing out furniture like it’s nothing. I’m bagging up clothes like it’s my job. I’m making room for new things to walk through the door, not just of my apartment, but of my life this summer. I want a few things to happen: I want to embrace, more than ever, the less-is-more lifestyle, and curate my experiences while saturating everything I touch with festivity and creativity.

While I plan to crack the whip on my own efficiency, I want to let my mind flow freely when it’s time to get inspired. Below are my own creative resolutions for summer 2013. Steal them, print them, share them if you’re on the same page as me!

painted-seashells-diy

 I will rethink the color of my walls, and why there isn’t a mural on them already.

 I will take so many photos that it borders on weird, but not forget to look at life with my own eyes too.

 I will write down things I notice and sketch things I find beautiful without humoring the idea of “the end result”.

 I will be inspired by vague notions and fleeting concepts without trying to figure them out.

I will indulge in green smoothies and dramatic coastline jogging so I feel awesome, even when I have a occasional inevitable creative-block.

 I will wear all of my favorite colors at the same time.

 I will try things I’ve pinned to my Pinterest board before I pin any new ideas.

 I will remove material belongings to make room for fresh new energy in my life.

 I will always pack my camera and leave my comfort zone behind.

 I will change the word “problem” to the word “challenge” every time I encounter it.

 I will find hidden treasures in my own city.

 I will dig up parts of myself in other cities.

 I will lay in the sun with my sketchbook, whether or not I end up sketching, for an hour each day. If it’s not sunny, I’ll relocate to a cute cafe with vegan banana choco-chip cookies.

 I will find new ways to express gratitude in my creative work.

 I will help my friends in their own creative endeavors, providing feedback and motivation without asking for anything in return.

 I will host creative circles for my friends to come together, share ideas, and make something(s).

I will wrap my hair in a big colorful scarf.

I will make something really special for someone I love and carry it to them in a vintage fruit basket.

 I will create beauty and value wherever I go, with everyone I speak to, and inspire as many people as I can.

 I will speak with guiltless excitement about my current projects and dreams, and invite others to do the same. When they do, I will tune into their words completely.

 I will remember that creativity is a gift, and not using that gift means robbing everyone who might benefit!

That felt good! Now you guys can write your own, and share them with me and your fellow creative souls! Let’s up our game, welcome inspiration, make some good s*** and illuminate the world! While wearing bikinis and cut-off shorts, obviously.

I’d love to hear what you’re working on. Get in touch on twitter, facebook, or right here in the comments.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2014 7:25 PM

    Love this! Honestly!!!! May do one of my own!!!!

    • June 4, 2014 11:22 PM

      Do it! It’s so much fun, and I’d love to hear your ideas. I pinned this one up on my wall last summer. ;}

Trackbacks

  1. Hey Mishka Loves… ♥ Link Round-Up | Hey Mishka

Leave a Reply

