Skip to content

Fabric Paint x Hickies = Epic Running Shoe Makeover (and a Giveaway)

April 17, 2013

It’s DIY Wednesday! The as-often-as-possible weekly project to keep you living creatively and questioning whether everything around you couldn’t be a little bit cuter.

This week’s project should keep you on your toes, ho ho ho. Shoe pun.  Yes. I’ve made over my old boring running shoes with a few simple quick steps and some help from a quirky elastic lacing product called Hickies.

hickies01 copy

Below, my boring running shoes. I’m a treadmill champion in my own mind, so running shoes are a huge deal. I’ve been drooling over expensive neon pink replacements for a while, but budget-wise, I have bigger fish to fry, so I’ve settled for the grey blah-ness of these. Until now.

neon pink running shoe diy makeover (1)

 First, I grabbed some neon pink fabric paint. The specific brand I used was Jacquard Textile in #153 Fluorescent Pink, good for natural or synthetic materials.

neon pink running shoe diy makeover (2)

 I laid some newspaper over my work area as not to dye everything hot pink. I used a simple medium-small paint brush that I’ve had forever and probably got at the dollar store.

neon pink running shoe diy makeover (3)

 Working in sections, I painted the fabric inserts of the shoe, from front to back, and finally the tongue. Since I didn’t tape them off to avoid messing them up (part of my perfection-is-the-enemy-of-greatness-and-also-of-actually-getting-anything-done campaign), I painted very slowly and carefully.

neon pink running shoe diy makeover (4)

 Once each area was painted (I left out one very thing strip which I may return to later with a thinner brush), I set them out to dry overnight.

neon pink running shoe diy makeover (5)

 The next morning I woke up to see the color had dried vibrantly! It’s not often you get the same color you started with, so this was exciting. It’s the same neon pink I’d been drooling over while window shopping for new running shoes pre-DIY.

neon pink running shoe diy makeover (6)

 Finally, because I’m tired of stopping the treadmill to tie my loose shoe laces (or tying them into insane knots to prevent that, and spending precious time trying to escape my shoes), I used an amazing product called Hickieselastic shoe laces that come in all matter of bright colors—to replace my old laces.

neon pink running shoe diy makeover (7)

 For my purposes, I chose white.

neon pink running shoe diy makeover (8)

 I laced the Hickies through the holes, snapped them into place, and shazam! New running shoes!

neon pink running shoe diy makeover (9)

neon pink running shoe diy makeover (10)

neon pink running shoe diy makeover (11)

Can’t wait to take these babies for a spin.

Are you a runner? Or just a sneaker-owner? Do you want to give your kicks a makeover?

The first two people to tweet at me about their favorite sneakers will receive their own box of Hickies to play with.

Yeeah, that sounds a lot dirtier than it is. ;}

Leave a Reply

