Skip to content

Upstate Bokeh + A Small Retreat

April 5, 2013

I’ve been cruising along the river to my ma & pa’s house in the Hudson Valley pretty often lately (I know that’s not “upstate”, but seriously, can you think of anything more boring to argue about?) for some quality family time and good old fashioned escapism.

Life’s been delving out an emotional ass-kicking at the tail end of winter and there’s something to be said for running home to my parents for encouragement and Netflix. ♥

DSCF3301

Leggings are not pants. So I guess I wore no pants that day! #whateverforever

DSCF3313

DSCF3315

DSCF3318

DSCF3319

I’m thrilled with this new combo of green tea and chai tea, courtesy of Stash. And I love that I got to enjoy a cup over this adorable Easter table cloth my mom had out. It’s like she knew I was going to blog things in the kitchen. ;}

DSCF3364

DSCF3368

DSCF3373

DSCF3374

Aah, the room I grew up in. From the stuffed animals of my childhood to Misshapes photos from 2006… it’s such a bizarre and wonderful layering of nostalgia. Also, pink walls never get old.

DSCF3376

DSCF3378

Wildlife other than pigeons! ♥ ♥ ♥

DSCF3408

DSCF3417

The city and all of its vices need a rest sometimes. I am grateful to have this retreat when I need it. I’ll get back to daily blogging soon!

Also, if you’re here for the first time you can rest assured I do not use these excessive bokeh photo filters. This was kind of a superfluous mood-lifter for me. You know you’re a blogger when photoshopping light effects onto pictures brightens your day.

P.S. Great article. In the ever-popular grey area of women’s “self-care” (ie: pedicures, cupcakes and vacant attempts at being empowered), it’s worth differentiating care from comfort.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2013 12:27 PM

    Hi Mishka.

    I just wanted to let you know that I have selected your blog for the Liebster Award. The award was passed along to me by another blogger: Mallory at Our First Nest.

    You can choose to play along or not. If you do, simply follow the 5 simple guidelines. You can find all the details on my blog here: http://julieloveshome.wordpress.com/2013/04/06/julie-loves-home-the-liebster-blog-award/

    Thanks,
    Julie

    • April 12, 2013 9:30 PM

      Thank you Julie! I’ve been nominated before but I appreciate it.

      xx

Leave a Reply

