Skip to content

4 Amazing Books I’m Reading Now

March 17, 2013

Aah the aromas of winter when I was a little tot are captured so adequately in a bowl of apple cinnamon oatmeal with fresh maple syrup. There is nothing I prefer more on a cold late-winter morning. Mom used to add some raw brown sugar and we’d all sit around the table as the snow fell outside, listening to the radio to see if school was canceled. Winter’s almost over, but I can still get into the mood. Get the recipe here.

oatmeal-apple-cinnamon

oatmeal-apple-cinnamon

In the spirit of winding down and avoiding overwhelm one day of the week, I’m just going to post a simple list of some incredible books I’m reading right now. Maybe one or two (or all) of them will call to you.

4 Books I’m Reading Now

 I Will Teach You To Be Rich by Ramit Sethi

One of my resolutions is to stop mucking around with dollar signs and get my personal finances in order. Admittedly, the idea of manifesting wealth is both exciting and terrifying to me, but this book is laying the ground work for smart saving, sound investing, and long term results. Ramit is also hilarious and literally calls you out on your subconscious blocks along the way.

 Lighten Up by Peter Walsh

I’ve been on a de-clutter kick for a couple years, and slowly chipping away at the excess in my life. I find it extremely rewarding and relieving to increase space while decreasing stuff. Some of the internal conflict that arises when you’re emptying the excess in your home makes it difficult to reach your goals, ya? Peter Walsh has massively helpful methods for overcoming that internal conflict and getting it done. I’ve read all of his books and this one is my favorite.

 May Cause Miracles by Gabrielle Bernstein

I just got this in the mail after it was recommended to me by a good friend. I found it a bit serendipitous considering I’d just read about it that same day. I know about Gabby Bernstein through Marie Forleo and I love hearing her speak about manifesting your goals and dreams into reality. This book is a specific 40-day plan to producing miraculous results through subtle shifts. I’ve barely cracked the cover but I have high hopes. I’ll let you know how it goes. ;}

 The Icarus Deception by Seth Godin

Though I’ve only seen Seth Godin in person once, I’ve considered him my own personal mentor for years through his blog and books. Seeing him speak a few months ago was an awesome highlight to kick off the new year, and this is one of the books he gifted all of us. It examines whether the tale of Icarus flying too close to the sun has any real pull in our modern world, where reaching high, creating genuine exchange, and creativity are the new survival tactics.

Alright, I’m off to decompress with my buddy Netflix. See you tomorrow!

P.S. Happy St. Patrick’s day! While I’m undoubtedly an advocate of festivity, I’m not too thrilled that this holiday and the culture of the Irish people has been reduced to open bar specials and college kids vomiting on one another. Alas. Enjoy the day and don’t over-do it. Personally, I’m starting out the morning watching The Secret of Kells on Netflix. xo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

