Skip to content

Japanese Magazines = A Real Addiction

November 27, 2012

Short story. I used to own so many Japanese fashion magazines they would consume my dorm room (and later my apartment) and produce such an overwhelming physical obstacle that the idea of sitting down and looking through them for inspiration was a joke.

I’ve since developed an entirely new tactic for magazine inspiration gathering (which also happens to be a very fun DIY project), but recently made an unexpected trip to Kinokuniya, a Japanese bookstore with a lot of potential for a magazine addiction relapse.

japanese fashion magazine style

Japanese magazines are probably the most fun on the global editorial scale, while still being intensely chic, and their bright pink covers and giant fake eyelashes make them very hard to resist.

It’s also worth noting that Japanese magazines and extremely cute office supplies were my own personal anti-depressants during long, hard months of hand-tailoring and couture embellishment at FIT. They were silly-yet-effective reminders to be bright-eyed and wear cute dresses, even when I wanted to eat pins and punch a dress form.

True story.

japanese fashion magazine style

So the other day I caught myself in a fit of nostalgia with a stack of five magazines in my arms after only having browsed a few minutes. At $15 a pop, that just doesn’t jive with my current budget.

Instead, I chose two that I really loved: a sweet-meets-boho interior decor mag and a catalogue for a big Japanese brand called Shel’tter, which houses some of the more edgy mass market fashion labels, like SLY and Moussy—remember when I got a personal shopping tour of the Moussy shop last winter? I’ve been lovingly following these brands for years!

Anyhoo, browsing their contents this week with my morning tea gave me a much needed dose of inspiration, apart from the usual fashion blog role call & self-help podcast routine, and I thought I’d share some of the colorful, creative pages with you here. Enjoy!

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

japanese fashion magazine style

What magazines are you reading for inspiration these days?

Share them in the comments!

One Comment leave one →
  1. probe97 permalink
    May 28, 2015 12:45 AM

    Do the Japanese glossy fashion magazines feel nice and have scented gorgeous pages?

Leave a Reply

