Skip to content

Halloween Costumes & Party Pics

November 2, 2012

Another Halloween has come and gone, violets. For the first time in three years, I resisted doing another colorful spandex-and-jewels rehash of Scheherazade. I went Spaniard instead. Behold, my DIY matador costume!

spanish matador costume diy

spanish matador costume diy

I was planning to do this very cool video documenting the process and share it with you, but I made most of the costume during the hurricane, which meant I was sitting in bed with my facial mask in my pajamas, with candy wrappers strewn about. So, no video.

The basic process was this: I bought a $14 used H&M jacket and hemmed it so it was cropped at the waist. I bargain-hunted through the small trimming stores in the garment district. Tip: avoid major stores like M&J if you want to avoid paying full price.

halloween diy matador costume bullfighter

halloween diy matador costume bullfighter

I used the techniques I learned in couture embellishment class to D.I.Y. the bejeezus out of the jacket. I began by pinning and hand-stitching thick trims along the contours where I wanted them. I did a basic beading stitch to add bugle beads and other gold embellishments that I had laying around.

I created the epaulettes using a layer of foam between two layers of spandex, trimmed at the edge with gold lace. I tacked the tassels and patches in place. For the pants, I just found some medium-rise stretch black pants and tacked trim onto the back and front.

Note: I did not follow the exact style of a traditional Spaniard matador jacket because I am not a traditional Spaniard matador. It’s more fun to be creative and make it your own!

matador costume bullfighter halloween diy

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

Party pics! ~ ☆

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

Below, Georgie proves a theory about Romanians being vampires. Plus, I make a serious face!

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

P.S. This amazing local band is Bad Buka. Check them out!

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

My costume on Saturday night (AKA pre-Halloween) was a conglomeration of whatever exciting colorful stuff I had in my closet. I wore Indian bridal jewelry, a Turkish coin belt, and a kimono. When people asked what I “was”, I said Queen of the Silk Road!

purple wig lilac pastel

I also DIY’d a Soviet pilot costume for Raffa. We bought the hat, I hacked the sleeves off the shirt and sewed the patches and stripes on.

mehanata halloween 2012 bulgarian bar

What a hunk!

That’s all for now… fun DIY’s coming tomorrow. Let me know how your Halloween went! Come hang out with me on FacebookTwitter, and Youtube too.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 2, 2012 8:15 AM

    I am in love with your matador coat, I’ve been tempted to like a ringleader/lion tamer type of halloween costume but never figured out how to work in all the details. Great inspiration :D

    • November 3, 2012 12:29 PM

      Thank you! I had a blast dreaming up the motif. I was searching high and low for embellishments closer to the original design for the front but came up short. I always say I’m going to make my costume a month early to work on details like that, but I never do ;}

      • waitingforoctober permalink
        November 3, 2012 1:16 PM

        I finally did think ahead this year because we needed custom Rockford Peaches patches for our League of Their Own outfits, but somehow none of the sewing got done until like a day before the party :P Keeps things exciting, I suppose.

  2. October 26, 2015 8:18 PM

    love it ! I’ve dredged the local thrift sore and by oct 31st i will hit the bull ring

Trackbacks

  1. ❤ QUE NI LA MUERTE NOS SEPARE ❤ « Hey Mishka

Leave a Reply

