Skip to content

Summer DIY: Painted Talking Sticks

April 26, 2012

A painting sticks as a DIY project is a whimsical way to inject some color into your home this summer. Decorative sticks can be traced to the tribal use of “Talking Sticks”, which were symbolic sticks held by members of the tribe while holding council. While holding the stick, you had the right to speak. Read more about that here.

I was inspired by this image I came across—painted sticks by Jessica Turnbow.

neon tribal painted sticks

As fate would have it I was strolling McCarren Park with my other half and came across a huge beautiful stick, perfect for painting (and maybe using as a curtain rod, like we saw in ABC Home last Xmas). We brought it home, but before I took a paint brush to it, I decided to practice on some smaller sticks.

So, the next day I returned to the park and collected a bunch of small sticks, also known as twiggeritos, about as thick as a pen. I painted them for practice, but ended up falling madly in love with them.

diy painting sticks home decor project

First, I cleaned off any dirt or residue that might have been stuck to them. I got some acrylic paint, a brush, a plate, and a cup of tap water for rinsing the brush.

diy painting sticks home decor project

I started by painting stripes around a few of the sticks in one color. Then switched to another color.

diy painting sticks home decor project

I let them dry for a bit before going in for a second coat, adding more colors, etc.

diy painting sticks home decor project

I let them dry on the windowsill in the sun (it only took about 25 minutes since they’re so small).

diy painting sticks home decor project

Then I dug around the kitchen for a small clear candle votive to put them in! Now they sit on my desk like so.

diy painting sticks home decor project

Seeing these little painted neon sticks on my desk while I work reminds me of two things to add color and natural elements to the rest of my life whenever possible. A little creative project inspired by a piece of history is the perfect interlude to any day.

Need some inspiration? Here are a ton of gorgeous images to spark your imagination.

painted sticks diy project tribal boho

painted sticks diy project tribal boho

painted sticks diy project tribal boho

painted sticks diy project tribal boho

painted sticks diy project tribal boho

painted sticks diy project tribal boho

Stay festive…

xoxo signature

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2012 8:50 PM

    What a lovely idea! <3

Trackbacks

  1. 6 things for kids to craft with sticks

Leave a Reply

