Skip to content

DIY: How To Organize Earrings

April 12, 2012

As I clean my apartment and streamline my life, I’d love to share some of the tricks I’m putting into practice to keep my material possessions in check. Today I’ll show you a quick DIY I used to end the seemingly endless disarray that was my earring collection. The approximate time of putting this into action? 5 minutes.

How To Organize Your Earrings

how to organize jewelry earrings diy

clear blue arrow Step 1: Find a piece of gauze, lace, or otherwise porous fabric with room for earring hooks to be hooked and removed. Test it out to make sure the earring hooks don’t snag on the surface before you cut the fabric.

how to organize jewelry earrings diy

clear blue arrow Step 2: Cut the fabric into a square, rectangle, triangle, whatever shape you’d like. My “shape” pretends to be a square, but I sort of like the a-symmetrical result.

how to organize jewelry earrings diy

clear blue arrow Step 3: Using push-pins, affix the fabric to the wall. Depending on the shape, reinforce the corners with extra pins. Once it’s sturdy, simply start adding earrings.

how to organize jewelry earrings diy

clear blue arrow Step 4: As you add them, pay attention to whether or not you need more reinforcement. Also, place studded earrings near the sides and top for easy access, and bigger, more intricate earrings near the bottom so they won’t block your view of the rest.

how to organize jewelry earrings diy

how to organize jewelry earrings diy

Errm, sorry about that rogue hair that thinks it’s an earring. That’s real life, babes.

how to organize jewelry earrings diy

Voila! A simple way to keep your earrings on display for quick accessorization, sans-clutter. Next time I’ll show you a quick way to clean up your vanity (or wherever you do your hair/makeup in the morning).

Have a stellar, festive day!

xoxo signature

4 Comments leave one →
  1. waitingforoctober permalink
    April 17, 2012 9:47 AM

    I just need a way to organize all my necklaces, they always get into a huge tangle x_x

    Also, I can’t remember if you’re a pinterest person or not, but either way my friend’s board reminded me of you: http://pinterest.com/HelpMeRhondaSue/bohemian-bad-ass/ , especially http://media-cache9.pinterest.com/upload/262475484502911167_jCwJ95do_c.jpg

  2. waitingforoctober permalink
    April 17, 2012 9:49 AM

    I just need a way to keep my necklaces from getting all tangled up now x_x

    Also I can’t remember if you do pinterest or not, but either way my friend’s board reminded me of you: http://pinterest.com/HelpMeRhondaSue/bohemian-bad-ass/ , especially http://media-cache9.pinterest.com/upload/262475484502911167_jCwJ95do_c.jpg

Trackbacks

  1. 25 Ways to Have More Fun this Week « Hey Mishka

Leave a Reply

