Skip to content

My Last Year With Fusion Fashion Show

April 11, 2012

Today I made the decision to step down as Assistant Director of Fusion Fashion Show. I’ve been a part of the Fusion family since 2006 when I was accepted to design in the show as a sophomore at FIT, and offered to re-do the website. I went on to present in the 2007 show and was hired as assistant director. I’ve spent the past several years supporting and coaching some of the most amazing young talent to come out of FIT & Parsons.

It’s been stellar to be involved in such an amazing production—one with alumni like Alexander Wang, Chris Benz, Prabal Gurung, and Mary Kate Steinmiller. You may also know Joshua McKinley, who debuted on Project Runway season 9. He was a fellow designer when I was first accepted in Fusion ’06! This family extends pretty deep into the industry and has over 10 years of history.

So, to leave? Big step.

However, this position now belongs to someone with the time and energy to fully dedicate themselves to Fusion. After six years, I owe whoever that is a chance to step in and shine. I’m looking forward to making room in my life to grow and cultivate my own projects with this new space I’ve created.

Here are some of my backstage photos from this year’s show. Congratulations to award winners Julien Archer, San Kang, Dana Im, Danielle Ridarick, Simon Lee, and Blair Moore.

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (7)

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (5)

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (4)

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (2)

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (9)

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (19)

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (18)

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (21)

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (29)

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (28)

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (30)

fusion-fashion-show-parsons-fit-2012 (31)

Fusion family is forever! Our alumni designers, staff and models are always going to have the experience in their hearts. I may sound cheesy, but if you’ve even attended you may have an idea of the meaning behind it.

It’s been a wild ride and I’m so grateful that I’ve had this opportunity. I’m so happy to have been taken in by director James Ramey (one of my favorite people in the entire world) and the Fusion team years ago.

To learn more about Fusion, visit the website. To RSVP for Fusion 2013 (in early March), click here! And if you’re interested in the job? Maybe it’s right for you! Send a resume and short email introducing yourself and your interest in Fusion to the director.

xoxo signature

Leave a Reply

