Skip to content

5 things I learned from my first craft sale

March 10, 2012

Greenpointers hosted a holiday craft fair market on December 17th in a local Lutheran church, right around the corner from my cozy mint green kitchen..

I applied for a table and then opened up my own little factory a few days before the sale, resulting in a table full of cards, painted houses, and super festive trinkets. I made about 1/2 my money back and gave away a lot of chocolate chip cookies, while my mom (who grew up in Greenpoint) sold some wreathes and candy. Despite not breaking even, I loved it.

greenpoint brooklyn mint green kitchen christmas xmas

greenpoint brooklyn mint green kitchen christmas xmas

Zooey and I hung out via Skype as per usual—she was sewing leggings. If you’re like me, working alone is paradoxically more distracting than having someone to talk to and compare progress with along the way. That’s why we used to sew through the night in groups at FIT. Strength in numbers!

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

Glitter-covered thumb tacks. Poke them into card stock, coat them in glue, sprinkle on glitter, and let ’em dry.

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

Bunting banners! So fun.

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

An epic amount of cookies.

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

The “practice set-up”.

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

The real set-up!

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

I didn’t get to finish these gingerbread men-shaped ornaments, so I sold them as “DIY” kits.

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

The first three cards I sold. Made my day!

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

My mom was selling these adorable stocking ornaments.

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

Raffa could not resist.

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

I was super excited to sell a few of these ornaments to a guy who told me he just got his first apartment big enough to decorate, and that my little DIY project would be on his first Christmas tree. Warm fuzzies!

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

My painted houses didn’t sell, but I was more than happy to bring them home and put them on my mantel (where they still reside despite it being March).

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

I hadn’t printed my business cards yet, so I picked up a bunch of dollar store (12 for $1) tags and wrote my URL in them.

greenpoint brooklyn christmas xmas holiday decor diy

That said, here are… 5 Things I Learned From My First Craft Sale

1. Location is key. If you’re able to choose a table, get there early. Our table was at the end of the aisle, parallel to the front door, so when people walked in we were basically the first thing they saw. We didn’t sell out, but we had a lot of traffic and met some great people.

2. Add color to your set-up. A lot of the cool indie brands had wooden stands and earth tone table clothes (and that was on-brand for them), but for me, a pink velvet table cloth and 1950s Xmas colors dominated the scheme. I got a lot of compliments on how welcoming the table looked.

3. Be overly prepared. Bring tape, tissue paper, pens, pins, extra bags, and bubble wrap. Also, bring blank price tag cards and extra business cards.

4. Have freebies (like cookies). It will draw traffic, start conversations, and for me, it turned into a few sales too. I gave away cookies individually on a plate, but I was also selling them by the bag.

5. If you have space, bring trinkets like beads, buttons, and DIY supplies to sell separately—just make sure they don’t look out of place or take the focus away from your main attractions.

More crafty goodness is on the way.

xoxo signature

P.S. Yes, I am just now getting around to post Xmas photos. But did you really think I would let this colorful explosion of festivity rot on my hard drive? ;}

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2012 9:43 PM

    I am completely enamored with those little holiday houses :D

    • Mishka permalink*
      March 10, 2012 9:54 PM

      I love them too… I think I’ll make a bunch of them next year and have a whole village. The cardboard templates were only like 2.99 each.

Trackbacks

  1. My Birthday + The Year Behind Me « Hey Mishka

Leave a Reply

