Skip to content

The Illustrious Mary Katrantzou

March 6, 2012

There are few designers left who inject the same level of creativity into their work as Mary Katrantzou. Her designs make me recall a time before I studied or worked in fashion, when my imagination wasn’t bound by technical limits or what I “knew” was possible.

When I was 13 and taping magazine editorials to my walls, my romantic view of the industry left room for boundless creative appreciation. All I cared about were the designers that really made me feel something.

Despite the slightly jaded feeling that arrives after years of fashion school and then working in the industry, I still cherish that untarnished feeling of adoration for the aesthetics that call to me. Matthew Williamson and Mary Katrantzou are two of the designers that leave me starry eyed. 

Her recent showing at LFW confirmed my ongoing belief that she is one of the most forward thinking textile/graphic/fashion designers in the business right now.

Mary Katrantzou LFW Fall 2012

Mary Katrantzou LFW Fall 2012

Mary Katrantzou LFW Fall 2012

Mary Katrantzou LFW Fall 2012

Mary Katrantzou LFW Fall 2012

Mary Katrantzou LFW Fall 2012

Mary Katrantzou LFW Fall 2012

Mary Katrantzou LFW Fall 2012

Mary, I tip my hat to you once again!

All images from Vogue (see her full collection and additional detail shots there).

xoxo signature

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

