Skip to content

The Myths & Joys Of Pink Hair

May 30, 2011

I had pink hair in high school. I was 14 or 15. It happened more than once. But like many others, my young brush with pink hair was inspired by Gwen Stefani, and I chose a vile hot pink rather than a romantic pastel rose like the hues below.

Sometimes I wonder if I should return to that pink hair lifestyle… but I have to wonder if it’s only real-world charming when you’re a runway model like Charlotte Free, or are a grandma whose dye-job went wrong and turns into a cute rose-color. 

All of these ruminations, inspired by the photo shoot below…

Click through to see the full editorial from Elle Mexico June 2011.

Happy Memorial Day Weekend!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Phoebe Diane permalink
    May 30, 2011 10:07 PM

    Love the post. Love Gwen. I had hot pink hair in high school too!

    • Mishka permalink*
      May 30, 2011 10:16 PM

      high-5! I feel this was a phase the coolest cats endured at one time or another. ;}

  2. May 31, 2011 11:49 AM

    My pink hair was way too bright at first, and I just dyed over it with a strawberry blonde and it was a nice warm hue. This is making me miss my pink hair, but it was too hard to maintain.

Leave a Reply

