Skip to content

DVF & an attempt to interview Grace Coddington

February 25, 2011

I am sick as hell, but looking forward to a full day of intense work tomorrow, styling a shoot with Taja Sparks & photographer Whalen Bryce for Gia Magazine. I’ve got clothes and suitcases and hangers all over my apartment and my head hurts so much I’m just going to try to sum up the rest of NYFW in one post and bid the internet adieu for the night…

Let’s do it!

DVF was like another sporting event stadium-sized crowd, with Fergie in front row and Olivier Zahm on the runway (sitting not modeling, ahaha—sorry, delirious from this cold).

I tried climbing over a few people’s heads to get a quick interview with both but it didn’t work out. The fashion mob had a mass exodus to Y-3 directly after the show. At some point before things got going I asked Grace Coddington if she would mind a 30 second interview, but she politely declined (“I’d rather not”).

At least I tried!

The collection was gorgeous—a token colorful palette for DVF with slightly minted  jewel tones, sparkling gowns, plunging V-neck dresses and dyed fur (her mint green fur/silk ensemble went down in Fall 2011 history as one of the brightest this season). The shamrock dress said DVF is still having fun in the design room, and there were clothes to suit both the most eccentric jet-setter and the NY fashion editor’s night on the party circuit. Favorite looks via Style.com.


After the show I got some shots of the model board backstage and then hung around in the back exit with my R29 photographer for DVF and other note-ables to come out.

Step on that cigarette with those red boots, girl.

Finally, DVF materialized to her smattering of fans/stalkers/photographers, who vocalized how they were so happy she recovered from her skiing accident, and how beautiful the collection was.

I asked how her New Year’s resolutions were going (this is a reporter’s last ditch effort to get a golden ticket interview, even one-question, and bring it back to the office) and she paused for a second, looked at me, and then was distracted by her car pulling up and a bunch of people leading her toward it.

Anyway, she looked amazing.

I’m going to crash, but before I go, check out this review I did for Mike Gonzaelez’s new summer lookbook at R29: Mike Gonzalez’s Amazing Summer 2011 Lookbook Is A Wearable Vacation—one of the most exciting lookbooks for the impending warm season that I’ve seen in a long time, and hits close to home with the Peruvian Voyage theme. ♥

To all a good night.

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Portfolio « My Weblog

Leave a Reply

