Skip to content

Turkey Day Recovery

November 27, 2010

I hope my fellow America-dwelling readers & comrades had an amazing Thanksgiving holiday! Mine was great—the nasty, cold rain made the interior of my boyfriend’s Aunt’s house in Queens even more welcoming when we arrived for dinner. There was copious wine, sangria, Peruvian music, and cross-cultural cuisine to be devoured. I ate and ate until I nearly passed out.

tchaikovsky darling michelle christina thanksgiving 2010

I used it as an occasion to (finally) wear the bohemian appliqued top I bought at Buffalo Exchange last August. It felt too soon in the warm weather, and definitely more fall-oriented because of the sleeve shape. I wore it with a black high-waisted pencil skirt (of H&M origin) and a thrifted vintage metal/leather belt.

tchaikovsky darling michelle christina thanksgiving 2010

tchaikovsky darling michelle christina thanksgiving 2010

And this is random… but the bathroom of the house was so much fun! I really appreciate this sort of festive, eclectic decor.

tchaikovsky darling michelle christina thanksgiving 2010

tchaikovsky darling michelle christina thanksgiving 2010

In preparation for the holidays and the slow death of late-fall, I’ve been listening to Edit Piaf Pandora radio non-stop, and packing away the entirety of my summer clothes (save for the cut-off shorts I wear 365).

All of my holiday shopping is done (only gifts and cards left to make), so I’m ready to enjoy the upcoming season in the most creative way possible. Sounds delicious, no? I can go out and photograph window displays, make DIY high fashion gingerbread houses, bead holiday dresses… maybe even design my own Xmas cocktail!

Yesterday was Black Friday (dun dun dunnn). I braved the city streets with Raffa and my mom. Everything went smoothly aside from mobbed-Macy’s—but we made a quick escape to Simon Martini Bar for a cup of tea when things got claustrophobic.

tchaikovsky darling michelle christina thanksgiving 2010 new york city bryant park

And it might be early for this, but we couldn’t help it. We found this incredibly convincing, super-magical vintage looking Santa Clause in ABC Home and he took a photo with us. He looks like a doll or something, doesn’t he? I held his hand and I felt like I was six years old again.

tchaikovsky darling michelle christina thanksgiving 2010 new york city bryant park santa abc home

Stay tuned for fashion & festivity coverage from all over the city, and that aforementioned Xmas cocktail recipe… ♥

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2010 2:38 PM

    That is an awesome Santa! And you and your mom look so much alike, but you could be mistaken for sisters!

    • Tchaikovsky Darling permalink*
      November 27, 2010 6:13 PM

      He’s really amazing, isn’t he? *_*

Leave a Reply

