Skip to content

Rooftops & Arcade Tokens

October 14, 2010

New desktop for autumn… ♥ Crispy leaves, purple glitter, cliché bohemian festivity, body paint, pure magic. I am a bit loony about my enthusiasm for this season.

Not much time to write tonight, but here’s what I’ve been up to… aside from playing with jewelry.

tchaikovsky darling michelle christina mehanata belly dance nyc balkan dance party mehanata jewelry jewels costume cameo

tchaikovsky darling michelle christina mehanata belly dance nyc balkan dance party mehanata jewelry jewels costume cameo

I assistant-styled a commercial on a D.U.M.B.O. rooftop, which was one of the coolest things I’ve done so far this fall. We decked out the extras in colorful, rock’n’roll-inspired clothing and the band in stellar eye-catching accessories.

I can’t go to that area of Brooklyn without thinking about Gossip Girl and the Humphreys. The view was amazing and the staff were so cool to work with. I’ll post up the finished commercial when it’s released.

fashion styling tchaikovsky darling michelle christina dumbo stylist commercial new york blog

I took these shots while everyone was inside taking a break from the shoot. Notably one of the last nights I could wear short shorts next to the water without tights!

fashion styling tchaikovsky darling michelle christina dumbo stylist commercial new york blog

fashion styling tchaikovsky darling michelle christina dumbo stylist commercial new york blog

fashion styling tchaikovsky darling michelle christina dumbo stylist commercial new york blog

fashion styling tchaikovsky darling michelle christina dumbo stylist commercial new york blog

fashion styling tchaikovsky darling michelle christina dumbo stylist commercial new york blog

fashion styling tchaikovsky darling michelle christina dumbo stylist commercial new york blog

I spent a few cool afternoons wandering the arcades of Chinatown and the delicious streets of Little Italy with Raffa, finding gems & treasures along the way… $3.00 painted masks, cheap country duck dishes, and aesthetically pleasing pastries, for instance!

fashion styling tchaikovsky darling michelle christina fashion design chinatown arcade neon

fashion styling tchaikovsky darling michelle christina fashion design chinatown arcade neon

fashion styling tchaikovsky darling michelle christina fashion design chinatown arcade neon

fashion styling tchaikovsky darling michelle christina fashion design chinatown arcade neon

Nights were filled with belly dancers, dance parties with friends visiting from around the world, watching sunsets in Brooklyn, and other beautiful rituals of early fall.

I would love to ramble on some more and post a thousand photos, but I just realized it’s 5:30AM. Time to crash.

Be well and stay inspired!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 7:53 AM

    That first collage makes me happy in ways I can’t even explain :D

    • Tchaikovsky Darling permalink*
      October 18, 2010 8:32 PM

      Me too, every time I open my laptop. *_*

  2. October 18, 2010 11:48 AM

    I love those jewelry you helped co-styled! Much!
    Roof top seems like a pretty cool location to throw a party.

    xx
    She

    • Tchaikovsky Darling permalink*
      October 18, 2010 8:32 PM

      The jewelry is actually just me fooling around in my room. I have to wait for the commercial to come out to post up the outfits I styled, aside from a few extras who I snapped photos of. Thanks though! Love your blog.

Trackbacks

  1. day job optional –How I Became A Freelance Writer - day job optional -

Leave a Reply

