Skip to content

DIY & Old School Coca-Cola

July 22, 2010

I picked up a skirt second-hand last week that first caught my attention on the rack due to the vibrant colors. It was a mix I only normally see in men’s plaid shirt prints. When I picked it up, I realized this skirt had indeed lived a past life as a shirt, and through a little DIY action, had become a new garment entirely.

So it got me thinking – the process for this transformation is so speedy, why not make a bunch of these for some breezy, cute summer separates? It’s so quick you’ll be grabbing every longer-than-midriff length shirt in your closet and turning them into skirts. It goes something like this:

Depending on the shirt, you’d also want to try it on inside-out, pin the side seams to fit you better, perhaps add pockets and hem it differently. But if you’re in a pinch and need something quick & cute to wear, try this out for sure.

I took my skirt for a test run at Mikey’s Burger (best burger joint in the Lower East Side, hands down—Raffa and I go there way too often), and then to a friend’s birthday party at Mama’s Bar in ABC-city, proving that you can totally rock this day-to-night.

I’m a sucker for classic coca-cola glass bottles.

I’m also a sucker for this handsome guy!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2010 6:38 AM

    wow this is so smart and cute!
    nice one girl!

    • Tchaikovsky Darling permalink*
      July 28, 2010 12:24 AM

      The skirt was DIY’d when I bought it, but I had to share the concept! I’m going to try it out with a few of my own shirts too. <3

  2. July 22, 2010 7:14 PM

    That is an awesome find! That skirt is great! And I’m a sucker for classic coke bottles too!

    <3 Kelly

    • Tchaikovsky Darling permalink*
      July 28, 2010 12:24 AM

      They’re so nostalgic, aren’t they? And somehow the coke is more delicious. ;]

  3. September 20, 2010 9:13 PM

    Love this

Trackbacks

  1. Tchaikovsky Darling « MCL Online Editorial & Writing Portfolio

Leave a Reply

