Skip to content

Long Live McQueen

February 21, 2010

I’m weeks behind in charting my course here, but I wanted to mention this incredible designer and his now-legacy before another minute passes.

As the past thirteen years of my life have been lived under the immense influence and inspiration of the fashion industry in one way or another, it’s impossible not to mention the suicide of Alexander McQueen, whose brilliance can hardly even be articulated.

I woke up late the morning of his death with a hangover, an amazing cup of coffee, and news that made my blood run cold. On my way into Sally’s studio, I saw this WWD sitting on the lounge room table.

It’s a reminder that life is fleeting and completely unpredictable, and it brought to mind so many of my peers who counted on his constant flow of beautiful creation as motivation and artistic fuel during fashion school. He was a true master to the end – but the end came way, way, way too quickly.

Rest in peace, McQueen. You will always inspire!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

