Skip to content

Marc Sebastian Faiella

March 2, 2009

My first encounter with Marc was at our initial meeting for the thirty fashion school super stars that made it into the Fusion 2009 finals. After about 15 seconds I was in love. About 15 seconds later I was accused of playing favorites. Sorry violets, it can’t be helped.

Since Fall 2008 the designers and I have been making merry with our director, James Ramey, and collectively preparing for the 10th year of madness that pits the nations #1 fashion schools (Parsons The New School for Design & The Fashion Institute of Technology) against one another on the runway.

Now, the show is less than a week away and everything is about to come together like a hot magic mess. I asked Marc to share with our readers a bit of his own experience and try to surface some glamorous rivalry.

Marc Sebastian Faiella

n1390770084_30086081_4906

Name drop – who have you worked/interned for?
Well, i started off interning for Christian Siriano, I finished up their after his spring 2009 show. Then I did a short internship at Ashleigh Verrier with a friend. Then i went to Peter Som, my favorite internship thus far, and after a while there i went to Marc by Marc Jacobs. It’s been a wild ride and it’s only been around a year.

Sum up the fashion school experience in less than 5 words.
Sewing/Drawing > Sleeping

How many NY Fashion Week shows did you sneak into this year?
I snuck into around 24 this year – some main ones being d o o . r i , Preen (OMG FAVORITE EVER) Rag & Bone and Band of Outsiders. It’s all about who you know and who you blow. Kidding kidding. It’s seriously about showing the right person how passionate about seeing the show you are. It’s also not a bad thing to have a friend who works for a stylist.

What’d you listen to while making your collection for Fusion?
Pandora.com every f♥cking day. Simone knows this. I would listen to the Lykke Li station and the Kids by MGMT station.

Say something you REALLY wish you could say to someone else in fusion without mentioning names.
I am not this mean! Okay, fine, I am a little bit… I would say, “Who in your right mind do you f♥cking think you are? You are not Jesus.”

Which school’s going to win?
Umm, seriously it’s a very close call. Both schools have amazing collections and both of them have some UMM WTF IS THAT collections. You know the collections that make you go UMM WTF IS THAT? IS THAT EVEN AN ARTICLE OF CLOTHING?

Other than your unbelievable charm, what’s your personal advantage amongst your peers?
My personal advantage? Hmmm, I would have to say that I know a lot about putting a collection together, making it cohesive and making it just right. My stuff is really wearable so that doesn’t hurt.

What’s your personal strategy for staying alive during 5 consecutive shows this weekend?
Can we just not even talk about this yet? I seriously have no idea. I would have to say lines of caffeine off any flat surface or something dramatic like that but I think we will all be fine. (famous last words)

Name something completely un-fashion related that keeps you creatively alive.
New York City. Looking out my window gives me enough energy to wake up in the morning and get on with my life. Even on the worst of days. Also it’s good to always have something to look forward too, whether it’s something as small as good food or as big as debuting your first fashion show. I know as a kid I never wanted to go anywhere unless I had something to look forward to… but don’t look forward too much because then you’ll wish away your days. Just sit back relax. Take it in and know that something good is on its way.

If you could only wear one thing for the rest of your life what would it be?
Skinny jeans that actually fit my long legs, a 50/50 American Apparal shirt, maybe a cute cardigan or something and the Spring 2008 Rodarte Louboutins…

What food do you want served at your funeral?
Chinese food, McDonalds, and Subway. My friends tell me my diet consists of that. And oreos and coca cola.  Actually I want a fountain of coke to just flow into a coke pond.

Do you want to talk about the suicide conspiracy and the Victoria’s Secret angel wings and whatnot, or should we keep that a secret?
Wait, what? I have bad memory.
Michelle: Oh my God, Marc. This conversation was like last week.

Anything else you really need to share with the readers?
I’d like to share the fact that I’ve been put on hold for 2 hours by the people at overnightprints.com. Oh, and that this collection is solely dedicated to my mother – my biggest support ever.

See Marc debut his first collection at Fusion Fashion Show 2009, this Saturday & Sunday on 7th Avenue. Visit the official site for more!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2009 10:30 PM

    I just want a fountain of coke to just flow into a coke pond.

    lmao!

Trackbacks

  1. Impulse Buy « Tchaikovsky Darling: Michelle Christina Larsen

Leave a Reply

